Tsēmā Igharas joins YVRAF Board of Directors

January 11, 2022

YVR Art Foundation is pleased to announce that Tsēmā Igharas has been elected to the Board of Directors for 2022-2025.

Tsēmā is an interdisciplinary artist and member of the Tahltan Nation. She uses Potlatch methodology to create conceptual artwork and teachings influenced by her mentorship in Northwest Coast Formline Design at K’saan, her studies in visual culture, and time in the mountains. Tsēmā holds a BFA from Emily Carr University of Art + Design (ECUAD) and an MFA from OCAD University. She is a three-time YVR Art Foundation award recipient, received the Emily Award for outstanding ECUAD alumni in 2018, and is a 2020 Sobey Art Award winner.

Tsēmā will work alongside the 12 member volunteer Board of Directors, chaired by Aaron Wilson, and the Foundation’s Executive Director Susan Jackson. Welcome Tsēmā!

Photography Credit: Stephanie Chow